Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

RECAP | Brumfield, Gregory Claim All-Conference Accolades at HCAC Championships

Angelina Gregory (left) and Clayton Brumfield. Photos: Rose-Hulman athletic communications
Angelina Gregory (left) and Clayton Brumfield. Photos: Rose-Hulman athletic communications

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – The Franklin cross country teams headed to Laverne Gibson Cross Country Park for the second time this season on Sunday (Nov. 3), this time for the 2019 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) Championships.

In the first of two post-season races, the Grizzly men collected a fifth-place finish while the FC women laid claim to a sixth-place finish. Each team placed one member on the all-conference list with Clayton Brumfield and Angelina Gregory earning the award after topping the Franklin leaderboard for their respective genders.

The men's 8K race was the first one on tap and Brumfield turned in another strong showing. The Greenfield, Ind.-native earned fifth place overall with a time of 27:01.1 to collect his fourth career all-conference award and capping four years of finishing in the top-eight at the conference championships.

Junior Chris Graham clocked in second among all FC runners with a time of 28:13.0, giving him a personal best 21st-place finish at the conference championships. Senior Adam Rector placed third among all Grizzlies and 36th overall, clocking in at 29:14.0.

Other times and finishes for the FC men included: freshman Jaycee Wilburn (45th/29:38.5), senior JT Sargent (51st/30:07.5), senior Sean Groves (60th/30:58.7), sophomore Matthew Lee (70th/32:25.9), freshman Corbin Lee (74th/33:24.5), freshman Ethan Bequeret (76th/33:45.2), freshman Henry Davidson (80th/34:18.7) and senior Alex Creamer (82nd/35:31.7).

Gregory capped a brilliant freshman season with a 13th-place finish and a spot on the HCAC's Honorable Mention team after clocking in with a time of 25:31.1 in the 6K race. The Indianapolis, Ind.-native finished second among all freshman on Sunday, trailing Anderson's Rebecca Gregg by one spot for the league's Freshman of the Year honor.

Sophomore Taylor Wooten claimed second place on the team and 39th-place overall after breaking the tape in 27:06.5. Not far behind was junior Grace Esterline, who earned 43rd place with a time of 27:26.3 and senior Jayla Callens whose time of 27:27.7 earned her a 45th-place finish.

Rounding out the times for the FC women were: freshman Emma Bowling (47th/27:31.0), freshman Makinsi Pike (55th/28:21.1), freshman Farrah Young (63rd/29:02.1), freshman Janae Johnson (71st/29:58.8), freshman Lex Desenberg (72nd/30:31.4) and freshman Jill Anspaugh (78th/32:00.6).

The Grizzlies are off for two weeks before their final event of the season, which takes place on Saturday, Nov. 16 in Grand Rapids, Mich. for the 2019 Great Lakes Championships.