Grizzlies Picked to Finish Sixth in ORLC Pre-Season Coaches' Poll

Grizzlies Picked to Finish Sixth in ORLC Pre-Season Coaches' Poll

GREENVILLE, Pa. – The Ohio River Lacrosse Conference (ORLC) announced its women's lacrosse pre-season coaches' poll on Friday afternoon, and the Franklin College women's lacrosse team has been picked to finish sixth by the league's 12 coaches.

Coming off a 6-7 season in 2017 that featured a 4-5 record in ORLC play, the Grizzlies collected 85 points in the pre-season poll, one back of Mount St. Joseph for the five-spot in the rankings.

Now in his first year as the program's head coach, Chris Wilham returns nine letter winners from a year ago. Among those letter winners, seniors Abby Stayer, Jess Silva and Haley Lowe were named to the conference's Players to Watch list.

Silva is the top returning scorer for the Grizzlies after potting 29 goals and adding nine helpers in 2017. She finished second on the team in goals scored behind Lexi Ingram and third in total points. Stayer returns as another vital member of the Franklin attack after finishing fourth on the team in both goals (18) and points (21) a year ago.

Lowe anchors a Grizzly defense that returns all four members in 2018. She'll be joined on the back end by senior Morgan McIntosh and sophomores Emma McIntosh and Kara Hawkins,

Washington & Jefferson College was chosen as the conference's pre-season favorite, picking up 137 points and six of a possible 12 first-place votes. The complete poll can be found at the bottom of the page.

Franklin opens the 2018 season on Mar. 3, when they take on Albion University at Faught Stadium. The opening whistle is set for 1:00 p.m.

2018 ORLC Women's Preseason Coaches' Poll

School (first-place votes)


2017 records

1. Washington & Jefferson (6)


13-5 (9-0 ORLC)

2. Transylvania (5)


14-3 (8-1 ORLC) 

3. Saint Vincent (1)


12-5 (7-2 ORLC) 

4. Hanover


9-8 (6-3 ORLC) 

5. Mount St. Joseph


5-9 (5-4 ORLC) 

6. Franklin


6-7 (4-5 ORLC) 

7. Thiel


2-12 (2-7 ORLC) 

8. Thomas More


4-9 (3-6 ORLC) 

9. Westminster


1-9 (1-8 ORLC) 

10. Chatham


First-year program

11. Waynesburg


0-14 (0-9 ORLC) 

12. Earlham


First-year program